The Scientific Committee

The managing committee is a body - composed of 32 members representing political institutions, customary authorities, socio-professionals stakeholders and environmental associations - which is tasked with writing the Natural Park of the Coral Sea’s strategic document. It is assisted in its mission by two working groups including a scientific committee created and adopted by New Caledonia government on september 11, 2018. The latter is entitled to make recommendations to the managing committee and to other working groups upon their request. The scientific committee will assist in the writing of a hierarchized scientific agenda to make sure it is logical and coherent.



In place since december 12, 2018 for one year, members of the scientific committee elected a president (Gilles Boeuf), a vice president (Claude Payri) and a secretary (Géraldine Giraudeau).

Identified by the CRESICA, the twelve members of the committe are independent specialists recognized for their scientific skills and their knowledge of ecosystems that exist in the Natural Park of the Coral Sea. Nine of them are locally based and three others are based in New-Zealand, Canada and France.


Les membres du comité scientifique en compagnie des représentants de l'Etat, du gouvernement et du directeur des affaires maritimes


Members of the scientific committee with the representants of French State, government and the affairs maritimes director.
From left to right, up : Laurent Wantiez, Thierry Canteri, directeur de la DAM-NC, Geoffroy Lamarche, Eric Vidal, Bertrand Richer de Forges, Hanner Xalite, representant of the government, Daniel Pauly, Ulric de la Borie, representant of haussariat.
From left to right, below : Pascal Dumas, Claude Payri,  Christophe Menkes,  Bernard Pelletier, Emmanuel Tjibaou, Géraldine Giraudeau.




Baby Green turtle, DAM SPE